BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Site Related Announcements - Suggestions - Feedback - Questions
 
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-09-2011, 11:24 AM   #1
Lexington
First Lieutenant
 
Lexington's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 135i Blue Water
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South Carolina

Posts: 380
iTrader: (0)

Problems Posting

I have recently encountered a problem posting from my laptop. When I try to post I get an error message indicating essentially that the message portion needs to contain at least 1 character. I have typed several sentences. I've posted from my home laptop in the past.

I'm able to post from my work computer.

I sent an email to the web master but no response as of yet. Any ideas?
__________________
Lexington is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2011, 12:16 PM   #2
southlight
Moderator / European Editor
 
southlight's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany

Posts: 6,748
iTrader: (0)

I guess you're using IE9. If so, try to disable the WYSIWYG editor in your UserCP (Edit options --> Miscellaneous options --> change from enhanced editor to standard editor). Then you should be able to post again. Hope this helps until there's a fix for IE9.


Best regards,
south
__________________
Those forums...WHY NOT?


JOIN THE 6MT CLUB GROUP
southlight is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2011, 04:36 PM   #3
Lexington
First Lieutenant
 
Lexington's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 135i Blue Water
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South Carolina

Posts: 380
iTrader: (0)

Thanks. That fixed it.
__________________
Lexington is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2011, 04:23 PM   #4
LEDZEP
Lieutenant General
 
LEDZEP's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E70 & 2011 F25
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Area 51

Posts: 12,277
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I have this same issue. Can you be more specific about the workaround? Is this an IE configuration change, or elsewhere in Control Panel?
__________________


I think it is bad luck to be superstitious
LEDZEP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2011, 05:22 PM   #5
southlight
Moderator / European Editor
 
southlight's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany

Posts: 6,748
iTrader: (0)

It's in the UserCP on this site (first link to the right of the header image), and then follow the steps mentioned above. Let me know in case you didn't find it and I'll send you a PM.


Best regards,
south
__________________
Those forums...WHY NOT?


JOIN THE 6MT CLUB GROUP
southlight is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2011, 06:33 PM   #6
LEDZEP
Lieutenant General
 
LEDZEP's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E70 & 2011 F25
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Area 51

Posts: 12,277
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by southlight View Post
It's in the UserCP on this site (first link to the right of the header image), and then follow the steps mentioned above. Let me know in case you didn't find it and I'll send you a PM.


Best regards,
south
Thanks! That did it, as does this quoted reply attest.
__________________


I think it is bad luck to be superstitious
LEDZEP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-25-2012, 02:01 PM   #7
Gogud
Private
 
Drives:
Join Date: Oct 2008

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

can't reset edit prefs

I received the same 'at least 1 characters' message and came here after several attempts to post. When I disable WYSIWYG and save changes, the page switches over but no changes are actually saved. I tried the reset--nothing seems to be resetting. No matter how it is done, nothing changes...
Gogud is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-27-2012, 03:02 PM   #8
Gogud
Private
 
Drives:
Join Date: Oct 2008

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

I logged in today and the settings are as I tried to set them. Posting is working fine for me now. Thanks.
Gogud is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 07:56 AM   #9
135
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia

Posts: 271
iTrader: (1)

Hi,

For my first post, I am attempting to reply to an existing thread but am receiving the following error message:

you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:
1.Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?
2.If you are trying to post, the administrator may have disabled your account, or it may be awaiting activation.


My account is already validated. Is there anything else I need to do before replying to threads or creating my own new thread?

This was the only forum that I could successfully post a reply.

Thanks.
135 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 08:03 AM   #10
135
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia

Posts: 271
iTrader: (1)

It appears that I can now reply to threads after posting the above but I am still unable to create my own new thread.
Is anyone able to shed some light on this?
Thanks.
135 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 08:13 AM   #11
Jason
Administrator
 
Jason's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA

Posts: 16,573
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 135 View Post
It appears that I can now reply to threads after posting the above but I am still unable to create my own new thread.
Is anyone able to shed some light on this?
Thanks.
New users may no longer create new threads immediately. They must first make some posts (and then wait a day or so).
__________________
Check on the Latest BMW News
Become a fan of Bimmerpost Facebook
Follow us on Bimmerpost Twitter
Subscribe to Bimmerpost Youtube Channel

Jason is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 08:38 AM   #12
135
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia

Posts: 271
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason View Post
New users may no longer create new threads immediately. They must first make some posts (and then wait a day or so).
Thanks for the reply. I saw the 5 post minimum applied to PMs but I didn't realise it applied to creating new threads.
Are there any forums that don't count for the number of posts?
135 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2012, 11:47 AM   #13
HIPSI
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives:
Join Date: Jun 2008

Posts: 241
iTrader: (0)

I've been having the same issue, made the changes... TEST post
__________________
08 135 Coupe SGM/Terra
15 Porsche Macan S- Family Hauler

HIPSI is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2012, 02:09 PM   #14
Eagle1oh7
Captain
 
Eagle1oh7's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 328i Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chula Vista CA

Posts: 689
iTrader: (0)

Well since I can't start a new thread, I've sent a message regarding upgrading my status over a week ago and I gotten no response yet. I still cannot send PMs and begin new threads. I have had well over the required posts needed in said timeframe and it still says the same message across the top of the page.
Eagle1oh7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-03-2012, 06:46 PM   #15
CKau
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sydney, australia

Posts: 387
iTrader: (0)

I'm a newbie and find I cannot start a thread, so I'm posting here just to say hi & hope this counts to my tally :-P
CKau is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2012, 08:48 PM   #16
CKau
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sydney, australia

Posts: 387
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason View Post
New users may no longer create new threads immediately. They must first make some posts (and then wait a day or so).
Hi Jason. I'm a newbie. I'm getting a message saying 3 posts before I can start a new thread and to wait 48 hrs. It's been more than 48hrs since my 3rd post.

Is the limit actually 3 posts or 5 posts as someone else is saying in this thread?

thanks,

CK
CKau is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2012, 10:53 PM   #17
Jason
Administrator
 
Jason's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA

Posts: 16,573
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CKau View Post
Hi Jason. I'm a newbie. I'm getting a message saying 3 posts before I can start a new thread and to wait 48 hrs. It's been more than 48hrs since my 3rd post.

Is the limit actually 3 posts or 5 posts as someone else is saying in this thread?

thanks,

CK
Look at your post count under your name. You only have 2 (counted) posts.

There are certain sections where posts don't count towards your post count, like the Off-Topic section.
__________________
Check on the Latest BMW News
Become a fan of Bimmerpost Facebook
Follow us on Bimmerpost Twitter
Subscribe to Bimmerpost Youtube Channel

Jason is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2013, 12:43 PM   #18
bertybassett
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 116 sports
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: gloucester

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

I'm getting this too. Guess I will go add some comments to other peoples posts.
bertybassett is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 01:12 AM   #19
328wagonxi
New Member
 
328wagonxi's Avatar
 
Drives: 328xi sports wagon
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Syracuse

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

I'm having this same issue so I'm searching and posting on others to hopefully get my posts up
328wagonxi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2013, 08:59 PM   #20
boostfiend
New Member
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

I really think someone should either get a better anti-spamming software because 3 post+ 48 hrs by the time you want too figure out something you are a week away from an answer. For example I'm looking for a solid answer on what exactly is needed for M3 suspension on my 335i as they will be giving to me for free and I have too wait 3+ days too post in suspension when the m3 suspension is only available tomorrow no one wants too wait 3 days+ to get an answer when every search thread says you need complete different things for m3 suspension on a 335. 1 thread says you need m3 knuckles, brakes, sliders when that can't be right another says you don't need anything for the fronts and just need to get m3 camber plate for the rears the answers are so misguided the whole point of a forum is you signup to get answers to your questions not wait 1 week+ and miss your opportunity to get the info you need.
boostfiend is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2013, 01:47 AM   #21
darthcheng
New Member
 
Drives: N/A
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So Cal

Posts: 13
iTrader: (1)

I just listed something something for sale today. How can I edit the post? Thanks.
darthcheng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-11-2013, 09:57 AM   #22
atinybug
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 158
iTrader: (0)

I was unable to find a newbie introduction thread to get my 1 reply post in so I'm making this reply here.
atinybug is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST