F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Watches > Jaeger's manual wrong (damage done?)
proTUNING Freaks

11-15-2014, 10:23 PM   #1
RedlinePSI
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: Something else

Jaeger's manual wrong (damage done?)

So get this. I have a Jaeger Master Chronograph. I was very careful to read the manual to learn proper usage. I'll skip to the main point now, setting the date (as read in the paper manual from the box as well as a pdf from their website): "rotate counter-clockwise to set date."

So I proceed to spin the shit out of the crown trying to set the date, nothing happening. After some confused time goes by, I spin it clockwise and the date shifts forward. ok great, I leave it alone and take it into the store where my salesman instinctively rotates it clockwise to set the date and sees it's working.

So it basically works now, and he says that it has a clutch which should prevent damage from spinning the crown the wrong way. Various people I have asked about this have different opinions. My one friend says he think's it could have caused damage.

So that was a few months ago. It general works ok, I usually wind up the watch, set the time, and then set the date. Sometimes when I go to set the date it wont work. It will not click into position, but more softly mush forward to the next day and then it will not spin any further. Then, if I wait about an hour I can try again and it works normally.

I go back to the store again expecting that I have to ship this to Jaeger but at the store another guy told me that you should always set the date with the hands pointing down. Anybody ever heard that?